College of Liberal Arts Faculty

Division of Natural Science

Dr. Kathleen Baczynski(2014)

Assistant Professor of Biology

baczynskik@bethelu.edu

 

Office: 115 Odom Hall

Phone: 731-352-6355

 

A.S., Luzerne County Community College

B.S. Biology, College Misericordia

M.S. in Animal Science, University of Maryland

Doctor of Philosophy, Biological Science

 

 
Division of Natural Science
 
Dr. Christopher T. Burket (2007)

Assistant Professor of Biology
 
Office: Room 108, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-4075
 
B.S., Manchester College
M.S., Ball State University
Ph.D., Worchester Polytechnic Institute

 

Division of Music and Religion

John Buteyn (2014)

Instructor of Music

buteynj@bethelu.edu

 

Phone: 731-352-6816

Office: 110B Marrs-Stockton Hall

 

B.A.& B.A. Houghton College

Master of Music, Music Technology, Georgia Southern University

Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Dan Cantey

Assistant Professor of Religion

canteyd@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6415

Office: 110 G Library Basement


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Music and Religion
 
Dr. Jon Carlock (1999)
Professor of Religion

carlockj@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4062
 
Office: Log Cabin
 
B.A., Bethel College
M.Div., D. Min., Vanderbilt University
Graduate Studies, University St. Andrews (Scotland)

 
- Chosen as the Hannibal Seagle Bible Chair for the University in 2010

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Science

Dr. John J. Caterina (2000)
Professor of Biology

caterinaj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 107, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-6900
 
B.A., Saint Anselm College
Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham


Website: http://jcaterina.pageout.net

Division of Social Sciences

Catherine Clark (2012)

Instructor of History

clarkc@bethelu.edu

Office: 209B Campbell Hall

Phone: 731-352-4292

Division of Health and Physical Education

Dr. Brad Cliff (2012)

Department Chair

Assistant Professor of Health and Physical Education

cliffb@bethelu.edu

Office: Room 104, Roy Baker Fieldhouse

Phone: 731-352-4289


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Jason W. Cole (2011)

Department Chair
Assistant Professor of Art
colej@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4082
 
Office: Room 113, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., Bethel University
M.F.A., Memphis College of Art

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Department of Languages
Division Chair

Jessica Copous (2008)
Associate Professor of English

copousj@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4010
 
Office: Room 121, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., Bethel University;
M.A., Southeast Missouri State University

 

Division of Music and Religion

Keith Cottrill (2014)

Instructor of Music

Office: 108B Marrs Stockton Hall

Phone: 731-352-6354

cottrillk@bethelu.edu

Bachelor's in Music Education, Shenandoah Conservatory of Shenandoah University

Master's in Music Education, Shenandoah Conservatory of Shenandoah University

Division of Social Sciences

Thomas Crawford (2014)

Instructor of Psychology

Office: 308A Campbell Hall

Phone: 731-352-4283

crawfordc@bethelu.edu

B.S. Georgia College and State University

Ph.D.  candidate Arizona State University


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Alan Cross (1998)
Professor of Music

crossa@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 102D, Marrs-Stockton Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4057
 
B.S., University of Houston
M.C.M., Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.M., D.M.A., University of Southern Mississippi

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Dr. Daniel A. Dalrymple (2009)

 
Assistant Professor of History
dalrympled@bethelu.edu

 
Office: 208 Campbell Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-6364
 
B.A., Ph.D., Michigan State University
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Randolph O. Day (1993)
Associate Professor of Business Administration 
dayr@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 103, Library 
 
Phone: 731-352-4088
 
B.S., East Tennessee State University
M.B.A., The University of Tennessee
Certified Public Accountant (inactive)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Dr. Joseph Alex Debonis (2009)

 
Assistant Professor of English
debonisa@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4219
 
Office: Room 115, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., Indiana University
M.A., Illinois State University
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Health and Physical Education

Lindsay D. Elliott (2007)
Assistant Professor of Health and Physical Education

elliottl@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 102, Baker Field House
 
Phone: 731-352-4009
 
B.S., Belmont University
M.A., Tennessee Technological University
 

Division of Natural Science

Dr. Carla Sue S. Eribal (2014)

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

eribalc@bethelu.edu

 

Office: 214B Morris Science Complex

Phone: 731-352-6384

 

B.S. Chemistry, Otterbein University

Ph.D. Inorganic Chemistry, Missouri university of Science and Technology

 

Division of Natural Science

Dr. Andrew Evans (2014)

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

evansa@bethelu.edu

 

Office: 209 Morris Science Complex

Phone: 731-352-4293

 

B.S., Bradley University

M.S. Purdue University

Ph.D. Purdue University


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Science

Dr. Howard L. Freeman (1979)
Professor of Biology

freemanh@bethelu.edu

 
Office: No office on campus
 
Phone: 731-352-7363
 
B.S., Fairleigh Dickinson University
M.A., University of Kansas
Ph.D., Rutgers University

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Stacie D. Freeman (2005)

 
Associate Professor of Sociology
freemans@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 206B Campbell Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4265
 
B.S., The University of Tennessee at Martin
M.S.W., The University of Tennessee
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Marion Graham (2003)
Professor of Speech-Drama

grahamm@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4056
 
Office: Room 128B Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., Geneva College
M.F.A., Northern Illinois University

Division of Math and Business

Dr. Sara Rognstad (2012)

Associate Professor of Math

rognstads@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-4071

Office: 122 Odom Hall

Division of Humanities

Stephen Haynes (2014)

Assistant Professor of Speech and Theatre

Office: 125 Dickey Fine Arts Building

Phone: 731-352-6350

hayness@bethelu.edu

A.S. Columbia State Community College

B.S. Austin Peay State University

M.F.A. Louisiana State University


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Keith Herris (2006)
Division Chair
Associate Professor of Music
herrisk@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 107, Marrs-Stockton Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4205
 
B.A., Goshen College
M.M., University of Oklahoma
D.M.A., Michigan State University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Department of Business

William Paul Hetrick (1998)
Associate Professor of Business Administration

hetrickw@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 109A, Library Basement
 
Phone: 731-352-4237
 
B.S., M.B.A., Youngstown State University;
A.B.D., University of Kentucky

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Robert Hicks (2004)
Associate Professor of Accounting

hicksr@bethelu.ed

 
Office: Room 110D Library Basement
Phone: 731-352-6811
 
B.S., M.Ac., The University of Tennessee at Martin
 
Accomplishments
Attended the Tennessee Society of Accounting Educators Conference, Brentwood, TN (2011, 2010, 2008, 2007)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Russell D. Holder (1989)

Associate Professor of Mathematics
holderr@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 118, Odom Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4072
 
B.S., M.A., Truman State University
Certificate, The University of the South
Continuing Education, University of Missouri-St.Louis;
St. George’s College (Jerusalem)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Dr. J. Pratt Hubbard (1992
)
 
Associate Professor of Speech
 
Phone: 731-352-4016
 
Office:Room 112 3/8, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., LaGrange College
B.T.A., Pasadena Playhouse
M.F.A., Ed.D., University of Georgia

 
Accomplishments

Pastor, The First Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., McKenzie

Ordained as a Cumberland Presbyterian Minister (2007)

Completed the PAS Program (2007)

Developed a prayer ministry for Success students, complete with a link on the Success website, allowing students to request prayer for specific issue. With The Rev. Dr. Anne B. Hames. (2006)

Attended Program of Alternate Studies offered by Memphis Theological Seminary on the Bethel campus and took undergraduate classes at Bethel. (2004-2005)

Accepted as a candidate for the ministry by West Tennessee Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. (2003)

Retired from service as a high school English teacher at Henry County High School (2000)

Division of Math and Business

Steve Isbell (2012)

Division Chair

Instructor of CIS & Business

isbells@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-4307

Office: 110E Library- Basement


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Dr. James J. Johnson (2007)
Professor of Math

johnsonj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 117, Odom Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4076
 
B.S., Southeastern Louisiana State
M.S., Northwestern State University
Ph.D., Auburn University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences

Dr. Roger C. Johnson (1980)

 
Professor of Physics and Computer Science
johnsonr@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 102, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-4074
 
A.B., Augustana College
M.A., DePauw University
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Advanced Graduate Study, Central State University;
The University of Tennessee at Martin; The University of Memphis

 

Division of Health and Physical Education

Dr. Lewis Kanyiba (2012)

Assistant Professor of Health and PE

kanyibal@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6417

Office: 108 Roy Baker Field House


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Dr. Sarah Kidd (2003)
Professor of History

kidds@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 101, Library-Basement
 
Phone: 731-352-4224
 
B.A., M.A., University of Alabama - Huntsville
Ph.D., University of Missouri


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences
Alex Klyuyenko (2011)
Assistant Professor of  Physics/Mathematics

klyuyenka@bethelu.edu

 
Office: 209C Campbell Hall
Phone: 731-352-4022

 
M.S., Kirovohrad, Ukraine Institute of Agricultural Machine Construction


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Division of Music and Religion

Dr. David Lancaster (2004)
 

Professor of Religion

lancasterd@bethelu.edu
 

Office: Log Cabin
 

Phone: 731-352-4218
 

B.A., Bethel College
M.Div.,Yale University Divinity School


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Timothy W. Lindsey (2003)
Division Chair
Professor of Human Services

lindseyt@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 102, Library-Basement
 
Phone: 731-352-4085
 
B.S., Bethel University
M.S.W., Louisiana State University (LCSW)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences

Dr. James McAllister (2011)
Associate Professor of Biology

mcallisterj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 210 Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-4079
 
B.S., University of Massachusetts at Amherst
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., University of Kansas

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Dr. Charles F. McConnell (2009)
Assistant Professor of Psychology

mcconnellc@bethelu.edu

 
Office: 104, Library Basement
 
Phone: 731-352-6352
 
A.S., Dyersburg State Community College
B.A., M.S., Ph.D., The University of Memphis

 

Division of Humanities

Sara McIntosh (2012)

Instructor of English

mcintoshs@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6403

Office: 111B Dickey Fine Arts Building


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Social Sciences

Dr. Jaime McLean (2011)
Assistant Professor of History

mcleanj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: 209A Campbell Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4098
 
B.A., University of Windsor
Ph.D., Michigan State University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Alacia Mitchell (2011)
Assistant Professor of Business

mitchella@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 110I Library Basement
 
Phone: 731-352-4041
 
B.S., Bethel University;
M.B.A., Lakeland College

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences

Dr. Victoria Moeller (2010)
Associate Professor of Chemistry

moellerv@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 206, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-6956
 
B.S., M.S., St. Louis University
Ph.D., The Ohio State University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences

Dr. John P. Nelson (1992)
Professor of Biology

nelsonj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 119, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-4073
 
B.A., Lycoming College
M.S., University of North Dakota
Ph.D., The University of Memphis

 

Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Brian E. Paulis (2012)

Assistant Professor of Music

paulisb@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6416

Office: 102A Marrs Stockton Hall

Division of Humanities

Dr. Jeremy Ricketts (2012)

Assistant Professor of English

rickettsj@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6404

Office: 111A Dickey Fine Arts Building

Division of Humanities

JR Robles

Assistant Professor of English

roblesj@bethelu.edu

 

Phone: 731-352-4015

Office: 112 Dickey Fine Arts Building

 

B.A., Bethel College

TESL Certificate, Tennessee Foreign Language Institute

M.A., MTSU


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Teresa G. Rose (2004)
Associate Professor of English

roset@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4048
 
Office: Room 122, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.S., M.A., Murray State University
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Natural Sciences

Dr. Joseph A. Sam (1991)

Division Chair
Professor of Chemistry
samj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 207, Morris Science Complex
 
Phone: 731-352-4078
 
B.A., University of Mississippi
Ph.D., University of Mississippi Medical Center

 

Division of Humanities

Poppy Scarbrough (2012)

Assistant Professor of Art

scarbroughp@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6393

Office: 114 Dickey Fine Arts Building


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanties

Dr. James A. Scruton (1990)
Professor of English
Mary B. Holmes Professor of Literature

scrutonj@bethelu.edu
Phone: 731-352-4053

 
Office: Room 120, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., M.A., Eastern Illinois University
Ph.D., The University of Tennessee

 
Accomplishments

Recent Publications
- Exotics and Accidentals, winner of the 2009 Chapbook Award from Grayson Books; Article on the British writer, Reginal Hill, in Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction (Salem Press, 2008); and poems in the following journals: Amoskeag, Broken Bridge Review, Broome Review, Comstock Review, Connecticut River Review, Fickle Muses (online), North American Review, New Delta Review, New Verse News (online), Poet Lore, Poetry East, Poetry South, Southern Poetry Review, Steam Ticket, Thema, Third Wednesday, Two Review.

Given readings and conducted workshps for Carroll Arts, Inc., and at Lee University, the Huntingdon Heritage Festival, and the National Endowment for the Arts Big Read Program.

For several years, has attended the Palm Beach Poetry Festival and the Southampton Writers Conference.

New collection of poems, Crossing the Days, was published in 2012

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Sharon K. Scruton (1990)
Associate Professor of English

scrutons@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 721-352-4054
 
Office: Room 124, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., M.A., Eastern Illinois University
 

Division of Humanities


William J. Shelton, Jr. (1993)
Associate Professor of Spanish 

sheltonb@bethelu.edu

 

Phone: 731-352-4058
 

Office: Room 119, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 

B.A., M.A., Murray State University
M.A., The University of Memphis

 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Irina Smith (2003)
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

smithr@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 121, Odom Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4254
 
B.S., Moscow Regional Pedagogical University
M.S., Murray State University
M.B.A., Bethel University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Joshua D. Smith (2008)
Associate Professor of Music

smithjd@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 102B, Marrs-Stockton Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-6724
 
B.M., University of Kentucky
M.M., James Madison University
D.M.A., University of North Texas

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Tony L. Smith (2004),
Associate Professor of Music 

smitht@bethelu.edu

 
Office: 110 A Marrs Stockton Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4243
 
B.A., Jackson College of Ministry
M.A., Ed.D., Trevecca Nazarene University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Department of Mathematics

Christopher R. Terry (2009)
Assistant Professor of Math

terryc@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 119, Odom Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-6429
 
B.S., Bethel University
M.A., Murray State University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Health and Physical Education

Dr. Deborah K. Thompson (1982-2001) (2002)
Division Chair
Professor of Health and Physical Education

thompsond@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 103, Baker Field House
 
Phone: 731-352-4014
 
B.S.Ed., Kent State University
M.A., The Ohio State University
Ed.D., University of Arkansas

Division of Social Sciences

Dr. Darryl Tukufu

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Office: 209D Campbell Hall

Phone: 731-352-4226

tukufud@bethelu.edu

B.A. Youngstown State University

M.A. University of Akron

Ph.D. University of Akron

 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business
 
Dr. Jesse Jon Turner (2003)

Professor of  Mathematics 

turnerj@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 120, Odom Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4038
 
B.S., Boise State University
M.S., M.A., Ph.D., University of Idaho

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Health and Physical Education

Malissa L. Vaughn (2000)
Associate Professor of Health and PE

vaughnm@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 101, Baker Field House
 
Phone: 731-352-4228
 
B.S., Lambuth University
M.S., The University of Memphis

Division of Music and Religion

Dr. Jeffery Wilcox (2012)

Assistant Professor of Religion

wilcoxj@bethelu.edu

Phone: 731-352-6420

Office: 110F Library Basement


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Humanities

Randell Wolff (2005)

Associate Professor of English
wolffr@bethelu.edu

 
Phone: 731-352-4061
 
Office: Room 123, Dickey Fine Arts Building
 
B.A., Bethel University
M.A., Murray State University

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Division of Math and Business

Dr. Berry K. Zeigler CPA (2007)
Professor of Business

zeiglerb@bethelu.edu

 
Office: Room 308C, Campbell Hall
 
Phone: 731-352-4235
 
B.S., M.S., Southern Illinois University
Ph.D., University of Georgia