Two More Performances of “Hairspray” Still to Come at the DIXIE



The Bethel University Renaissance Theatre Program will offer two final performances of “Hairspray” at The Dixie Carter Performing Arts and Academic Enrichment Center in Huntingdon April 12 & 13.

The shows will begin promptly at 7 p.m. Tickets are $15 each and can be purchased online at or at the door. For ticket information contact the Dixie Box Office at (731) 986-2100.

“Hairspray” will delight audiences by sweeping them away to 1960's Baltimore, where you meet Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with a HUGE heart!  She has a very strong desire to be a dancer and gets her chance when she earns a spot on the local dance T.V. program, "The Corny Collins Show." Overnight she finds herself transformed from a girl just trying to fit in, to a star! Can this larger-than-life teenager defeat the show’s reigning princess, integrate it, and find true love all without messing up her hair?  With arguably one of the most upbeat and catchy scores of all time, “Hairspray” includes tunes such as “Good Morning Baltimore,” “You Can’t Stop The Beat,” “Big, Blonde and Beautiful,” “It Takes Two,” “Welcome to the 60’s,” “I Can Hear The Bells” and more.  This production is Directed by Brian Hill; Music Direction by Lisa Powell; Choreography by Aubrey Doyle

The cast includes: Katie McGill, Chelsea Fuller, Drew Montoya, David French, Jason Wade, Lauren Lay, Mallory Sellers, Mary Grace Stockdale, Sarah Wilson, Hannah Witten, Allin Montford, Cody Allen, Jordan Nichols, Jamie Sullivan, Erika Blake, Jacob Estes, Heather Voytek, Alyssa Hassell, Megan Ellis, Kaylea Goodman, Beth Operia, Elizabeth Cook, Anna Cary, Molly Willis, Kristen Reynolds, Naomi Mahoney, Joy Pointe, Alexis Ward, China Mcfarland, Najah Turner, Carmen Myers, Valencia Averyheart, Kyiara Jackson, Darnell Neder, Josh Randle, Josh Shaw, Ralph Morgan, Ben Montoya, Daulton Burns,Vincent Pupo, Kelsey Wynn, Jalen Ellison, Will Hill, John Dyson, Isaiah Johnson, James Turk, Ethan Williams, Victoria Motherall, Kelsey Collins, Megan Norris, Karissa Corder, Brad Jackson, and Justin Ripley.