Summer 2017 Commencement is Saturday, Aug. 5

Bethel University will have its Summer 2017 Commencement this Saturday, August 5 at 10 a.m. in the Rosemary and Harry Crisp II Arena on the school's McKenzie campus. 

     The Reverend Dr. David Lancaster, who was recently elected as the Moderator of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church’s General Assembly, will be Commencement Speaker. In addition to serving as the Moderator of the General Assembly, Lancaster has served as Professor of Religion at Bethel University since 2004. He has also served as an instructor in the CP Church's Program of Alternate Studies since 1986. 

     Lancaster graduated Summa Crum Laude from Bethel with a Bachelor of Arts. He also has a Master of Divinity from Yale University, and he has undertaken graduate studies in Philosophy at The University of Tennessee at Knoxville as well as studies in the Doctor of Ministry program at Columbia Theological Seminary in Georgia. He holds a Doctor of Ministry from the Graduate Theological Foundation, and he has completed doctoral studies at Liberty University.

     Dr. Lancaster has served in ministry at Knoxville First Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Milburn Chapel Cumberland Presbyterian Church in West Paducah, Kentucky, New Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Sharon, Tennessee, Campground Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Decaturville, Tennessee, and Florence First Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Florence, Alabama.

     Finally, Dr. Lancaster has served on the General Assembly Pastoral Development Ministry Team and on the General Assembly Commission on Theology and Social Concerns. He has also served as the General Assembly commissioner in 2010, 2001, 1990 and 1982 and on the Search Committee for The Cumberland Presbyterian magazine as well as on the Presbyterial Realignment Task Force and the Presbyterial Board of Missions and New Church Development.

     Seating for guests of graduates and line up of graduates will begin at 9 a.m.

     Graduates with questions should contact the Registrars for their respective colleges. For all other questions, contact Myra Carlock at

Posted by Jennifer Glass at 9:02 AM