Skip to main content


Johnson and Lancaster Retire from Bethel

050423 AS Faculty Retirement 38 1

Celebrating the retirements of Dr. Roger Johnson and Dr. David Lancaster

by Bethel University

050423 AS Faculty Retirement 38 1

Two longtime faculty members at Bethel University announced their plans to retire at the May 4, 2023, faculty meeting.

Dr. Roger Johnson has been employed as a faculty member in physics and computer science since 1980. Johnson received an A.B. degree in physics and math from Augustana College, and M.A. degree in physics and math from DePauw University, and a Ph.D. in science education and college physics from the University of Iowa.

Johnson served the University in many ways, including implementing a Title III grant to develop Bethel’s computer science program and establishing the first institutional research office at Bethel. Johnson has served on every faculty committee at the University, served as faculty representative to the Board of Trustees, and served numerous terms as faculty moderator. He has been the program coordinator for physics and mathematics and has been active in ecumenical advocacy.

Dr. David Lancaster has been employed as a faculty member in religion since 2004. Lancaster received a B.A. degree from Bethel College, a M.Div. degree from Yale University Divinity School, and a D.Min. degree from Liberty University.

Lancaster has served as pastor for multiple churches, including Knoxville First Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Milburn Chapel Cumberland Presbyterian Church, New Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and Campground Cumberland Presbyterian Church. He has served as moderator of the General Assembly of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and as a commissioner to the General Assembly of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Lancaster has served an numerous faculty committees during his tenure at Bethel and has been moderator of the faculty. He was awarded the distinction of Bethel University Teacher of the Year in 2009, as been named to the Mid-South All-Conference Faculty Team and was a recipient of the Roy and Mary Shelton Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award.

Johnson and Lancaster were awarded faculty emeritus status by the Bethel University Board of Trustees at the University’s commencement ceremony on May 6, 2023.